WHY DID PAUL HAVE A THORN IN HIS SIDE???

Spreading the Word Without Saying A Word Ministry

By: Chico and Debbie Jimenez

WHY DID PAUL HAVE A THORN IN HIS SIDE???

We MUST UNDERSTAND THAT PAUL WAS VERY ZEALOUS!!! BEFORE PAUL WAS A CHRISTIAN, HE KILLED AND PERSECUTED CHRISTIANS!!! Acts 22:3 I am verily a man which am a Jew, born in Tarsus, a city in Cilicia, yet brought up in this city at the feet of Gamaliel, and taught according to the perfect manner of the law of the fathers, and was zealous toward God, as ye all are this day. 4 And I persecuted this way unto the death, binding and delivering into prisons both men and women. 5 As also the high priest doth bear me witness, and all the estate of the elders: from whom also I received letters unto the brethren, and went to Damascus, to bring them which were there bound unto Jerusalem, for to be punished. 6 And it came to pass, that, as I made my journey, and was come nigh unto Damascus about noon, suddenly there shone from heaven a great light round about me.

YET, WHILE ON THE ROAD TO DAMASCUS WHERE SAUL WAS ON HIS WAY TO PERSECUTE MORE CHRISTIANS, JESUS APPEARED BEFORE HIM AND ASKED,  Acts 22:7 And I fell unto the ground, and heard a voice saying unto me, Saul, Saul, why persecutest thou me?  8 And I answered, Who art thou, Lord? And he said unto me, I am Jesus of Nazareth, whom thou persecutest. 9 And they that were with me saw indeed the light, and were afraid; but they heard not the voice of him that spake to me. 10 And I said, What shall I do, Lord? And the Lord said unto me, Arise, and go into Damascus; and there it shall be told thee of all things which are appointed for thee to do. 11 And when I could not see for the glory of that light, being led by the hand of them that were with me, I came into Damascus.

SAUL(Acts 13:9 Then Saul, (who also is called Paul)) WAS LED INTO DAMASCUS, MANY THERE WERE AFRAID OF SAUL BECAUSE THEY KNEW THAT HE PERSECUTED CHRISTIANS. 12 And one Ananias, a devout man according to the law, having a good report of all the Jews which dwelt there, 13 Came unto me, and stood, and said unto me, Brother Saul, receive thy sight. And the same hour I looked up upon him.  ANANIAS KNEW BY REVELATION OF THE HOLY SPIRIT THAT HE WAS SUPPOSED TO TAKE CARE OF SAUL. 14 And he said, The God of our fathers hath chosen thee, that thou shouldest know his will, and see that Just One, and shouldest hear the voice of his mouth. 15 For thou shalt be his witness unto all men of what thou hast seen and heard.PAUL RECEIVED HIS SIGHT AND RECEIVED JESUS AS LORD AND SAVIOR!!!

MANY PEOPLE DO NOT UNDERSTAND WHY PAUL HAD A THORN IN HIS SIDE, LET’S EXAMINE THE SCRIPTURES TO FIND OUT WHAT THE WORD OF GOD SAY ABOUT THIS SUBJECT!!!

2 Corinthians 12:1 It is not expedient for me doubtless to glory. I will come to visions and revelations of the Lord. 2 I knew a man in Christ above fourteen years ago, (whether in the body, I cannot tell; or whether out of the body, I cannot tell: God knoweth;) such an one caught up to the third heaven. 3 And I knew such a man, (whether in the body, or out of the body, I cannot tell: God knoweth;) 4 How that he was caught up into paradise, and heard unspeakable words, which it is not lawful for a man to utter.5 Of such an one will I glory: yet of myself I will not glory, but in mine infirmities. (Infirmities definition from the Strong’s Concordance 1) want of strength, weakness, infirmity a) of the body 1) its native weakness and frailty 2) feebleness of health or sickness.)

6 For though I would desire to glory, I shall not be a fool; for I will say the truth: but now I forbear, lest any man should think of me above that which he seeth me to be, or that he heareth of me. JESUS IS LORD AND NO ONE SHOULD GLORIFY ANOTHER MAN, ONLY JESUS!!!   7 And lest I should be exalted above measure” (puffed up and arrogant) through the abundance of the revelations, there was given to me a thorn in the flesh, the messenger of Satan to buffet me, lest I should be exalted above measure. (Buffet definition from the Strong’s Concordance 1) to strike with the fist, give one a blow with the fist 2) to maltreat, treat with violence and contumely.)

GOD HIMSELF PUT A THORN (PHYSICAL PAIN) IN PAUL’S SIDE TO ALLOW satan’s messenger (demon) TO ATTACK  PAUL, TO REMIND PAUL THAT HE SHOULD NOT BE PUFFED UP AND ARROGANT AS HE WAS BEFORE, REMINDING HIM ALSO NOT TO ALLOW OTHERS TO PUT HIM ON A PEDISTOOL AND EXHAULT HIM. 8 For this thing I besought the Lord thrice, that it might depart from me.PAUL ASKED GOD THREE TIMES TO TAKE THE THORN AWAY FROM HIM TO NO AVAIL. 9 And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me. 10 Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in necessities, in persecutions, in distresses for Christ’s sake: for when I am weak, then am I strong. 11 I am become a fool in glorying; ye have compelled me: for I ought to have been commended of you: for in nothing am I behind the very chiefest apostles, though I be nothing.

NOW THAT YOU KNOW THE REASON FOR THE THORN IN PAUL’S SIDE, WE CAN UNDERSTAND AND KNOW WHY GOD DID NOT HEAL PAUL OF HIS INFIRMITY!!! THEREFORE, THIS IS WHY THE FOLLOWING VERSES DO NOT APPLY TO PAUL’S SITUATION.

1 Peter 2:24 Who his own self bare our sins in his own body on the tree, that we, being dead to sins, should live unto righteousness: “by whose stripes ye were healed”. Isaiah 53:5 But he was wounded for our transgressions, he was bruised for our iniquities: the chastisement of our peace was upon him; and “with his stripes we are healed”. Psalms 103:1 Bless the LORD, O my soul: and all that is within me, bless his holy name .2 Bless the LORD, O my soul, and forget not all his benefits: 3 Who forgiveth all thine iniquities; who “healeth all thy diseases!!!

PEOPLE TELL US ALL OF THE TIME, THAT SICKNESS OR DISEASE, WHATEVER THE CASE IS GOD’S PLAN FOR THEM, THAT IS NOT TRUE!!! PAUL SPECIFIED THE REASON FOR HIS INFIRMITY, SO THAT EXCLUDES HIM FROM THE DEVINE HEALING THEREOF!!! The WORD of GOD SAYS WE AS TRUE BELIEVERS IN CHRIST JESUS ARE HEALED!!! Romans 1:25 Who changed the truth of God into a lie, and worshipped and served the creature more than the Creator, who is blessed for ever. Amen. DO NOT ALLOW THE LIES OF THE DEVIL TO HOLD YOU IN BONDAGE ANOTHER MINUTE!!! Mark 5:36 Be not afraid, only believe.

IF YOU DENY WHAT THE “WORD OF GOD” (JESUS) CLEARLY SAYS,  “JESUS WILL DENY YOU” IN Matthew 10:33 But whosoever shall deny me before men, him will I also deny before my Father which is in heaven.KNOWING THATJESUS IS THE “WORD OF GOD” as it is written in John 1:1 In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. John 1:14 And the Word was made flesh, and dwelt among us, (and we beheld his glory, the glory as of the only begotten of the Father,) full of grace and truth. Revelation 19:13And he was clothed with a vesture dipped in blood: and his name is called The Word of God. THEREFORE, DENYING THE TRUTH IN THE WRITTEN “WORD OF GOD” IS DENYING JESUS ON EARTH BEFORE MEN AND IN HEAVEN BEFORE GOD!!! DO YOU HEAR ME NOW??? Matthew 11:15 He that hath ears to hear, let him hear. Matthew 6:10 Thy kingdom come. Thy will be done in earth, as it is in heaven.

GOD BLESS,

Chico and Debbie

About spreadingthewordwithoutsayingawordministry

Luke 4:18 The Spirit of the Lord is upon me, because he hath anointed me to preach the gospel to the poor; he hath sent me to heal the brokenhearted, to preach deliverance to the captives, and recovering of sight to the blind, to set at liberty them that are bruised. We Preach the “Glorious Gospel of Christ Crucified”!!! 1 Corinthians 1:23 But we preach Christ crucified, unto the Jews a stumblingblock, and unto the Greeks foolishness; The “Word of GOD” is VERY CLEAR in Galatians 1:8 But though we, or an angel from heaven, preach any other gospel unto you than that which we have preached unto you, let him be accursed. Galatians 1:9 As we said before, so say I now again, If any man preach any other gospel unto you than that ye have received, let him be accursed. Galatians 3:13 Christ hath redeemed us from the curse of the law, being made a curse for us: for it is written, Cursed is every one that hangeth on a tree: The teachings on this site are by “REVELATION of the HOLY SPIRIT” to edify the “BODY of BELIEVERS IN CHRIST JESUS”. We Pray that You WILL BE BLESSED by these teachings!!! Donations Can Be Made by going to our PayPal link on the far right ------->>> or Mailed and Made Payable To: Gilbert and Debbie Jimenez / Spreading The Word Without Saying A Word Ministry P O BOX 794 New Smyrna Beach, FL 32170-0794 1 Corinthians 9:14 Even so hath the Lord ordained that they which preach the gospel should live of the gospel. IF YOU ARE BLESSED BY OUR MINISTRY, PLEASE PRAY FOR US. God BLESS, Chico and Debbie
This entry was posted in Atonement, BELIEVER, Christ, Christianity, Faith, GOD, Grace, JESUS, Justification, Reconciliation, Redeemer, RELIGION, SALVATION, Sanctification, SAVIOR, The Bible, The Word of GOD. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

